Beer Made Easy, Big & Easy

The Big & Easy

Now I love a great brew and I’m even more fascinated by the art of brewing, which I admittedly have little physical experience with. My husband, Steve, on the other hand is the beerhead and the brew master in the family so when we’re out I pick his brain about styles and taste profiles before I order. Though I’ve wanted to go to a make-your-own-beer shop and Steve has promised to get his beer making equipment out of storage our plans never seem to come together. So when the folks over at the Village Wine Shop on Queen Street East gave me a bottle of “The Big & Easy-Bottle Brew” in Mexican Cerveza style I was as giddy as a kid with their first Easy Bake Oven.

I was really excited to try my hand at what promised to be fool-proof, rapid home brewing. Granted the hard work had already been done by the manufacturers since what you’re actually getting is mircobrewed “wort” in a bottle. Wort being the liquid extracted from the mashing process during the brewing of beer (or whiskey). Wort contains all of the sugars that will be fermented by the brewing yeast to produce the alcohol in your beverage of choice.

After unscrewing the specially designed pressure cap, this is so your beer doesn’t explode while it ferments, I dropped in the provided yeast capsule, screwed the top back on, placed the bottle in a kitchen cabinet and waited 12 days for the fermentation process to finish. At the end of what seemed like 3 weeks of waiting we refrigerated the beer for an additional 12 hours before opening it (really important step) and were presented with a semi-clear, mild beer that wasn’t half bad for $5.

Aside from having to wait for 12 days it is the cheapest, most decent quality beer you can get these days for that price and it’s much better than the cheap $1/beer brands The Beer Store sells by the case. Not to mention it’s damn good fun! If you’ve got the space for it you can keep multiple batches going and always have a good supply of home brew on hand to enjoy and share. Heck, Big & Easy brews may just beat out cookies for party gifts this holiday season.

The Big & Easy comes in three styles: Premium Pilsner, Red Lager and Mexican Cerveza and yields a 5% alc/vol brew. If you really want to be creative you can add small quantities of dried “adjunct” to your wort before you add your yeast capsule. Dried citrus peel, spices and herbs are great options but in small quantities least they overpower your brew.

Have fun and let me know what you come up with when you finally try it.

5 thoughts on “Beer Made Easy, Big & Easy

  1. Hi Logan,
    I am the owner of a company called Mister Beer Inc in Woodbridge, Ontario, Canada. We are the makers of the Big & Easy Bottle Brew and a second brand Mister Beer bottle Brew. The Big & Easy is sold exclusively in Wine and Beer making establishments. The Mister Beer label in variety stores and smaller grocery stores. I wanted to thank you for your great review of our product. I am happy you liked our product. We are currently getting our website finished, and I wanted to ask for your permission to post your review link to it. I would really appreciate it, since we have a hard time convincing people that home made beer can be very good and is not inferior to big commercial brew. I am looking forward to hear from you.

    Thank you very much,

    Stefan Riedelsheimer

    Mister Beer Inc.
    20 Hanlan Road, Unit # 23
    Woodbridge, Ontario, L4L 3P6
    Phone #: (905) 850-5893
    Cell#: (416) 460-4306

  2. Hi Stephan,
    Great to hear from you and glad you guys will have a website soon. My absolute pleasure to sing your product’s praises. As I mentioned above it was a lot of fun to play with and tasty as well.

    Please feel free to link to this post and I hope it’s a convincing testimonial. Word of mouth is a great thing!

    Logan

  3. Thank you very much. We really appreciate your permission.

    Cheers,

    Stefan Riedelsheimer
    Mister Beer Inc.

  4. Hi Logan,
    I got a chance to try this bottlebrew and i have to agree it’s good taste for homemade beer not to mention incredibly cheap for what your getting. My friends and I are all big fans of the red pilsner. It’s the richest of all four.
    They’ve got a video explaining the use of their product.
    It’s the 3rd link on the right called Mister Beer.
    http://www.blankminds.ca/index.php/services/filmmaking

    • Hi Jason,
      Very glad to hear it! We’ve since moved back to the US and I haven’t had a chance to look for the product in our area so thanks for posting and reminding me. :)

      Will make sure to try the red pilsner if we can get it.

      Cheers!
      Logan

Leave a Reply

